GFCF egg-free Millet Sunflower Bread

Millet Sunflower Bread

I know it’s been awhile since I posted, life got a little crazy over the holidays.

But I have a wonderful new recipe to share!

I have been searching for a better bread recipe and I am very picky.

Once you get the hang of GF cooking, it is pretty easy to make bread, but

what I was looking for was something I could really feel good about putting

in my kiddos lunches each day.  Not only did I want it to taste good

and hold up well, I wanted whole grain, high protein goodness in every bite.

Before the days of GFCFEF, I used to make whole wheat breads from scratch for lunches and such. I have found many of the GFCF recipes full of starches and sugars, none of which really felt good in my tummy or made me feel great about feeding my kids, so I have been tinkering with recipe after recipe, slowly losing the starch and adding more grains, seeds and good things.

I think I have finally found an answer:

The recipe that inspired this bread is found here.  Please check it out as, she has so many fun recipes.

My version is casein free, egg-free and has a few more whole grains.

This recipe is for 1 large loaf

1/2 C warm water

2 T agave nectar

1 1/2 T yeast

mix above and let proof

add:

1 C raw sunflower seeds, ground in blender to desired consistency, (I like it a bit chunky, but it works well if you prefer a finer grind)

1 C millet flour

3/4 C quinoa flour

2/3 C buckwheat flour

1/3 C ground flax

2 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1 1/3 C warm water (this is in addition to the water above)

2 T brown sugar or honey

4 T oil

after the yeast has had a few minutes to proof, I add everything in my bosch

and let it mix for 3- 5 minutes. This should be just a tad thicker than cake batter.

I let the mixer work on it for a few minutes after it is all blended, it seems to help

create a stronger bread – less likely to crumble and break.

Quickly scoop it into a large, greased bread pan and let it sit in a warm place

for about 20 minutes to rise.

I like to let mine rise in a warm oven, I turn it to the lowest temp while I am making the bread and as soon as it comes to heat I turn it off and stick the bread in there to rise. When it has risen high enough I turn the oven on and let it come to heat with the bread inside.  It seems to help prevent it from falling.

Bake 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

The trick is to look for a slightly golden crust and to stick a thermometer in the bread and let it cook until the interior reaches 190 degrees. (The original recipe uses eggs and butter and the bread needs to get to 205, but I have not found that possible with the egg-free version, at 195 it starts to burn).

Pull the loaf from the oven and let it cool in the pan on a cooling rack for 10-15 minutes before loosening the edges with a butter knife and removing  it from the pan to continue to cool. The trick is to let this bread cool completely before cutting it as it continues to cook and firm up while it cools

I often make a quadruple recipe which fills all 4 of my bread pans and a muffin tin.

Once cool, slice and freeze. It reheats beautifully in the toaster and will probably keep for a few weeks in the freezer (the kiddos inhale it too fast for me to know just how long it will last).

Anyway, give it a try.  It has truly been an answer to prayers at our house. My oldest boy doesn’t come home angry and hungry from school anymore. He is so much happier to make and take a giant sandwich full of meats and veggies to school and even happier to be eating something that looks like “normal food.”

It makes great sandwiches, rolls and cinnamon toast according to the kids and I have to agree.

Let me know if you try it!

~ by enjoythelittlethings on January 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

